Mladeč, Olomouc distr., Olomouc Region
Caves with Late Palaeolithic settlement
(32000–30000 years ago)
The caves of Mladeč have yielded unique proves of upper Palaeolithic settlement and skeletal remains of modern man. They were discovered in 1828, in the course of limestone quarrying; an excavation was undertaken in the 1890s. Human bones were discovered in three different spots: at the entrance to the cave, in the 'Dome of the Dead' ('Dóm mrtvých') and in the ‘Knies cave’ (destroyed by extraction). A total of about 100 human bones (without anatomical context) of several individuals were found. Another interesting find is the ochre marks on the cave walls. Today, only one of the entrances to the cave is in use; the main visitors’ entrance lies on the south-eastern foot of Třesín Hill.
References: Szombathy 1904; Knies 1905; Svoboda 2000; Oliva 2003.
Navigation point: N 49°42‘23.14“, E 17°00‘56.15“ (entrance to the caves).
Selected fulltext articles and reports for further reading. Complete bibliographical records are available in the Downloads section as the List of publications.Sto zajímavých archeologických lokalit Moravy a Slezska – MladečSzombathy, J. 1904: Neue diluviale Funde von Lautsch in Mähren, Jahrbuch d. k. k. Zentralkommision für Kunst- und historische Denkmäle II/1, 9–16.